The smallest of the large tents in the Wirtsbudenstraße is mostly known for its culinary treats: Fish, particularly on a stick and Augustiner on tap.
Not later than 1818, the first herring was grilled at Oktoberfest, but although it has been a popular treat for decades, it has completely disappeared until today. The reason is an even more popular fish dish: the Steckerlfisch, which is mainly mackerel, trout or zander grilled on a stick. Not only herring vanished over the years, also the larger part of the once numerous fish stands is not present today. This cannot be ascribed to an alleged unpopularity of Steckerlfisch, but rather to the popularity of one single stand, the Fischer-Vroni.
In 1904 Josef Pravida built the famous timbered house with the half-hip roof and stork’s nest for the first time, but opened it under the name “Fischerhütte zum Holländer” (Dutchman’s Fishing Hut) and renamed it three years later as Fischer-Vroni. After decades in the neighbourhood of the Augustinerzelt, it moved to today’s location in the Wirtsbudenstraße in 1998. The current building, whose façade still looks essentially the same as more than a hundred years ago, dates from 2006, was extended with a gallery on top of the main entrance in 2011 and again modified in 2013, when the front received a barrel storage.
On the south side of the tent, you can watch the mackerels, trouts, zanders, fingerlings and bass being grilled and buy one of them for consumption in a beer garden. Besides the fish-oriented and very unique menu, Fischer-Vroni offers an additional treat: Augustiner Oktoberfest beer served from wooden barrels.